Grateful – April 26, 2024

With smaller bandwidth lately, I am slow going about settling dad’s affairs. I need mom and dad’s marriage certificate to apply for the death benefit and dad’s old age security on mom’s behalf. I was sure it would either be tucked into the bible (dad’s wedding gift to mom) or in their wedding album or scrap book. But no, I couldn’t find it anywhere. Applied to vital stats for a copy (thank you fellow public servants for some help) and retrieved it from my mailbox last night. It is a treasure. Witnessed by my Uncle Al and Aunt Vera. Strangely, it says the marriage was on August 15 and registration was filed the day after – but they were married on August 21. Maybe they did things different back then. Here’s the best part – the bride and groom needed to state their marital status going into this union. The choices were divorced, widowed or bachelor/spinster. OK I can get behind dad being called a bachelor at 27. But mom a spinster at 26? Grateful for progress.

Leave a comment