Grateful – April 22, 2022

I’ve had this print of Province House on my desk for most of my career. It was a door prize at a staff event many moons ago. When the House is in, work life revolves around it and things are hectic. Even more so when you jump straight into it just as you’re hauling yourself up from two years of immersion in the deepest depths of one enormous area of work (oh you know, just a global pandemic). It’s been a six-week uphill sprint back into the more traditional comms job, plus learning enough about a lot of different things in a new department with new minister, new staff, new people management responsibility, and 4 pieces of legislation including some of the most high profile of the session. As of tonight, all 4 pieces have passed third reading and are just waiting for the LG’s benediction. I haven’t really messed up. I can feel the trust and confidence building. People tell me I’m doing fine. And hallelujah as I type this, they voted on the budget, the LG has arrived and very shortly, that will be wrap on the spring session.

ps – No, I’m not nerdy enough to watch House proceedings as my Friday night entertainment. But yes, I am nerdy enough to have it running on mute on my laptop so I can see the status of things while I watch Netflix.

Leave a comment