IMG_20140815_183805It’s Friday night, the week is done like dinner, and I want nachos.

Nothing fancy about my nacho prep. My only ‘secret’ is to sprinkle a little cheese over the chips before adding chopped pepper, tomato and green onion and then topping with more cheese. It helps everything stick together rather than toppings sliding off the chips.

IMG_20140815_182841What really makes the nacho experience for me, though, is my homemade guacamole.

I despise cilantro, a key ingredient in most guac, so I never buy the stuff. If I want it to not taste like cactus – which I have tried, true story – then I have to make my own.

I stick to the simplist of ingredients: avocado, garlic, the white part of the green onion (the green part goes on the nachos), a little tomato, and a splash of lime juice.

IMG_20140815_183304I make the whole thing right there on the cutting board. Chop the garlic and onion together, mash it into the avocado, then fold in the tomato and lime juice.

You see that napkin in the ‘final product’ photo? Yeah, that’s because it’s about to get deliciously messy in there.

Here’s to Friday night!

a

