IMG_1508Well, hello 2014. Please forgive me if I size you up with a wary eye. I don’t really know you yet. Don’t know if I can trust you to be better than your predecessor.

I know what you’re thinking….somebody has issues. Ummm, yeah, you’re right. Last year was crap so this year, I’ve got to wade through some muck and get my head back into a better place.

Tis the season for resolutions, so here’s mine: to make 2014 a year of flexibility and alignment.

Let me explain. I was stretching my left hamstring at the gym yesterday afternoon (New Year’s Eve) and pulling my right hip back to be properly aligned for a good stretch. And that’s when it struck me that both physically and emotionally, I need to strive for more flexibility and alignment.

IMG_1505

I’m very tightly wound. I’ve got wonky hips and shoulders. I worry. I take on a lot. I don’t let enough go. I have high expectations of myself. I go go go.

But when I do manage to let go of the swirling to do list and the urge to crumple my shoulders forward under the weight of stress, and instead stand tall, release my clenched jaw, and breathe, things fall into place much better in my head and in my body.

Flexibility and alignment. They go hand in hand to make things better. So I’m seeking them out in as many ways as I can think of this year. I started today with a nice long walk on the trails near my home with the bright sun and bitter cold of a new year.

IMG_1504Wearing crazy but warm socks my brother gave me for Christmas and six upper layers (seriously), I set out to practice walking with contracted gluteus medius muscles which pull my knees and ankles into alignment, thereby relieving achilles tendonitis. (The knee bone really is connected to the hip bone, etc.)

What’s that, you say? Isn’t this a food blog? What’s all this about glutes? Well yes, there’s usually a food connection. And if you really need one, I can tell you that I came home to a steaming hot bowl of my late friend John’s apricot red lentil soup. But I hope you’ll grant me a little leeway now and then to share some observations through the year as I pursue my resolution.

Happy new year….I hope.

a

