So I’m moving in two weeks.

I’ve got two real estate deals closing on the same day. That means I have to move out of one abode, tell the movers to take a coffee break (or a long lunch) while allowing that sale to close, and then get the deal closed on the purchase of the new abode before I can move in.

So two weeks out, I’m looking at the amount of food in my freezer and fretting. I don’t want to waste anything, and I don’t want to impose on a friend for freezer space. So I’m cooking and eating as much as I can.

On this crisp October morning, I hauled out the slow cooker to make a stew. I had about 5 minutes to pull it together so I didn’t bother looking up a recipe. Here’s what I threw in the pot:

Warm, comforting stew.

Warm, comforting stew.

2 quartered onions
a bag of baby carrots
about a pound of new potatoes
about 2 pounds of cubed stewing meat
1 large can of crushed tomatoes
a sprinkle of basil and pepper

I set the slow cooker for 8 hours on low and flew out the door, hoping those ingredients would do good things together.

Fast forward about 16 hours…

I arrive home after a full day at work and teaching a fitness class. Those grapes I’d devoured on the bus hadn’t come close to stopping the rumbly in the tumbly. I dished out hard crunchies for the cats, and a steaming bowl of stew for myself.

Those ingredients did, indeed, do good things together.

And here’s the secret to a delicious stew experience: mush everything all together with your fork. That’s right, it looks like a brown mess so I won’t show you a picture, but it’s oh soooo delicious this way. Been doing it like this since I was a kid and only polite company would stop me from doing it now.

Go on, give it a try. You know you want to…

a

