So have I mentioned I’m working on a master’s degree part-time? Yep, course #2 is coming to an end with an exam in a few days.

It’s been a loooong time since I’ve been in school but it’s funny how my old study habits and preferences are resurfacing. I feel compelled to read everything, even though some classmates tell me I’ll be fine if I just skim. I’m re-reading lesson notes and key readings, writing out fresh study notes based on them, and then reviewing with two colours of highlighters in hand. Two colours of sticky flags peek out the sides of stacks of paper.

Ah yes, you say, she’s a typical Type A. Indeed. I fret when I feel like I haven’t absorbed much. I get an A and wish it were an A+…and then I get an A+ and wish it were a perfect 100% A+ rather than darn good 94% A+. I remember getting 100% on a chemistry test in high school and being annoyed I didn’t get 104% which was possible because of a bonus question.

Not that good marks come easily to me. I have to work for them, always have. So the past couple of gorgeous summer weekends have been spent mostly at the kitchen table, studying away.

And studying calls for snacks. Last weekend, I hauled some cookie dough out of the freezer. Cookies and tea are excellent study tools.

curry dipThis weekend, I wanted salty crunchy. And I’ve had curry dip on my mind. So I made a little no-recipe dip with what I had on hand. It went something like this:

  • about a teaspoon of curry powder
  • about 2 tablespoons of mayo (ok it was light Miracle Whip, real mayo would be nicer)
  • about 2 tablespoons of sour cream (ok it was non-fat, some or full fat would be richer)
  • a splash of lime juice (ok it was bottled, fresh would be nicer)

I mixed it all together and scooped it up with brown rice chips, washing it down with a tall icy glass of OJ and ginger (about a 1:3 ratio of orange juice and ginger ale).

The height of perfection, it was not. But it was darn good. So I give it an A+.

a

