OK, here we go, pulling ourselves up by our bootstraps with a new post…

We don’t get a lot of melting hot weather in Nova Scotia, but we usually get a stretch of it at some point every summer. This week, we’ve had temperatures hovering around 40 with humidex. I almost perspire just thinking about it.

I don’t like moving much in this heat. But I love being outdoors with a breeze that doesn’t give me goosebumps, especially at night. I love gently swaying in a hammock with a cool drink, a crunchy snack, and a good book or magazine.

Fruity, fresh mock sangria.

Fruity, fresh mock sangria.

My sole exertion today was a stroll to the grocery store for some key ingredients to enjoy a lazy hot day. Lemons, limes, berries, a couple of kinds of juice, some Sprite, and some salty crunchy treats.

I got home, wiped my brow, and prepared a lovely mock sangria to chill in the fridge while I took a cool shower. Then I set up the hammock, tossed some nacho chips in a bowl, poured my fruity beverage into a practical plastic glass with a lid and straw, and got comfy in my swaying chaise with a few cooking magazines.

There’s precious few hours of hammock time every summer. So I savoured every fruity sip of my punch and the chirping of the birds, giving the hammock a nudge every once in a while to get it rocking again.

In the back of my mind, I was thinking of the avocado tzatziki I’d whipped up earlier from a recipe on Pinterest. What a brilliant idea to make tzatziki with rich, delicious avocado instead of cucumber!

Taste of summer

Taste of summer.

So when my tummy got rumbly, I did a little chopping and assembling to make the Greek chicken that came along with the tzatziki recipe, as well as mixed grilled vegetables, grilled corn on the cob and some simple couscous.

Grilled goodness.

Grilled goodness.

I chose the couscous because it only involves using the stove for a very short time. The rest of the meal was cooked on the barbeque, keeping as much heat outside the house as possible.

I made loads of this food…plenty for a few people. But since I was dining on my own, as I will be for the foreseeable future, I tossed all the extra chicken, vegetables and couscous together for office lunches and evening meals through the week. Perhaps a bit repetitive, but who can complain about a whole lot of delicious? Not me!

And now, to watch a few episodes of the West Wing with some more of that mock sangria in the cool relief of the basement.

a

