My little brother once thought it would be fun to calculate how many biscuits our mom has made in her lifetime. I don’t remember the tally he came up with. So as I was making biscuits myself a couple of weeks ago, I thought I’d try the math, too.

Biscuits and jam.

Biscuits and jam.

Let’s make a conservative estimate that mom made a pan of biscuits a week. And let’s scale it back from a full lifetime to her married life – that’s 47 years and counting. There’s roughly two dozen biscuits to a pan with her recipe. So 24 biscuits per pan x 52 weeks per year x 47 years of marital bliss = 58,656.

That’s a lot of biscuits.

We always had biscuits in the house. Sometimes mom would say the wind was blowing when she made them, because they’d all be leaning one way on the pan. But they were still perfect. They rounded out meals and served as snacks. We made little ham and cheese sandwiches with them. We had them with molasses as the traditional dessert after a dinner of herring and potatoes.

My favourite way to eat them is piping hot from the oven with butter melting on contact. My next favourite preparation is to split them open, spread on a bit of butter, and pop them under the broiler just until they get a bit crispy on top. Then I spoon on some jam and sink into heaven. Sometimes I sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the butter and broil them, just like mom did on Sunday mornings.

These days, I often make a ham and cheese variation that goes over well with H and D. They’re great to tote along to have with my morning tea at work. And I still do them under the broiler on weekends.

Ham and cheese biscuits.

Ham and cheese biscuits.

Mine aren’t as good as mom’s but they’re still good. And I don’t have recipe memorized like she does. But I keep making ‘em. Hope you will, too.

a

 

 

 

Biscuits

Ingredients
4 c. flour
1/3 c. sugar
8 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 c. butter
2 beaten eggs
enough milk to make 1 1/2 cups of liquid

Preparation
Sift dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Cut in butter until it’s about the size of peas. Beat eggs in a measuring cup and add milk until you have 1 1/2 cups of liquid. Make a well in the middle of the mixing bowl and pour in egg and milk mixture. Mix with a fork and then form dough with your hands. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead just a few times to form a nice ball. Roll out dough to about 1/4″ thickness and cut out biscuits. Re-roll as necessary until all the dough is used. Bake at 425 for 15 minutes or until tops are browned.

